Chandler on Film?

I just stumbled across a video filmed on the 17th of March 1918 of Canadian soldiers being presented to America dignitaries at the CEF HQ on the Western Front.The significance of this is that Chandler arrived in France on 16th of March and it is easy to imagine that Canadian commanders would show off their freshest troops. It is a long shot of course but I can’t help but wonder as I watch this video if Chandler is amongst these men.

I have to say that I am a bit bogged down in Chandler’s war experiences. Not being a military historian, I have found it difficult to decode some of the abbreviations in the records of his war service. Still, it seems to me, that there the past biographies haven’t really told the story of Chandler’s war experiences fully so I hope that mine will set that straight.

Leave a Reply

